Skip navigation

not something U could be proud of

you’d think that competition might bring some quality and over all service of the companies anywhere.

that has not happened in the cell phone companies in Pakistan. their prices have gone down, but their services have gone down too.

consider Ufone. i wanted to change my service to Zong, since the signals of Ufone are very weak in the area that i live in. and that is where my nightmare started.

I went to the Zong center and asked them to port my number out to their service. they sent in a request and Ufone came with a reply that there was a name issue with the request. meaning that the name and number did not match.

I called UFone customer service and asked them what was the problem. there was no problem. my name details were correct. just in case i asked them what name was written down in their records. and carefully wrote it down. and then once again went to the Zong center. and made a Mobile Number Portability (MNP) request.

this time it was rejected again. apparently i had some outstanding balance due, on a PrePaid account. so i called the Ufone customer service. they said they did not have a clue as to why that happened. they asked me to go to their service center.

so i went to their service center. and they filed the complaint. and later that evening they called me again and said that the issue had been resolved and that i should file my request again with Zong.

so i filed my request again. Ufone called me to know why i was switching. and i told them i was doing it because of the poor reception in the area. they filed my complaint, and send me a complaint number. and told me that my number will be ported out the next day.

and when the next day arrived, guess what happened? they have again rejected my request. the reason: the name mismatch issue.

What dumb people.

Leave a comment